Don’t Be Busy…Be Fruitful!

I encourage you to take an inventory of what you do throughout the day. You might be doing something God’s not asking you to do, or something He was asking you to do but isn’t anymore. Let the Holy Spirit show you how to get rid of busyness and bear more fruit. ~Joyce Meyer

Being Fruitful

Trees bear fruit. So do vines. But, how fruitful are you and I in the spiritual realm? You and I may be  doing ‘stuff’ – but is that really bearing fruit? Is busyness stealing your peace?  

Let us look together at a Biblical principle concerning the children of God bearing fruit, through this little excerpt:

I once heard of a guard who watched over a certain plot of ground at Buckingham Palace in England. For 100 years, 24 hours a day, that plot of land had been guarded. 

Finally, someone asked, ‘What are you guarding?’ He didn’t know and simply said it had been under guard for 100 years. It turned out that 100 years ago, the queen had planted some rose bushes there and wanted to make sure they grew. Now, a century later, a guard stood where a rose bush once stood, guarding nothing. 

The Lord wants us to be fruitful.

How does God get this point across to every child of His? First, the message of John 15:1-8 makes this clear. Consider some excerpts from what Jesus said to His apostles in that setting: “I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit . . . Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abode in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned . . . Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.”

Concerning the necessity of bearing fruit, from these verse we learn that branches, which are symbols of/represent disciples of Jesus, if they do not bear fruit, are cast away and eventually are burned (15:2,6). God is glorified when Jesus’ disciples bear fruit (15:8). And, true disciples will bear fruit (15:8).

The Lord wants us to be fruitful in the right things.

It is not enough just to bring forth fruit or to produce something. No, the Lord wants each of us to be fruitful in the right things. What might that be? Paul prayed for the saints in Philippi to be filled with “the fruits of righteousness(Philippians 1:11). He also prayed that the Christians in Colosse would be “fruitful in every good work(Colossians 1:10). As we noticed earlier, being unfruitful is put in contrast to maintaining good works in Titus 3:14. So what do we see in these verses? The Lord wants us to be fruitful in the ways of righteousness or good works. That means to be participants in what the Bible portrays as proper or good activities. That would surely include those items contained in “the fruit of the Spirit(Galatians 5:22,23).

The Lord wants us to be fruitful for His glory.

What is it that brings glory to the Father? Jesus said, “Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit. . .” (John 15:8). I should not be interested in doing things in order to bring attention to myself. My motive in bearing fruit ought not be to have others praise me. The Master said that our good works should be seen by others alright, but our goal must be for those that see our good works or fruits to glorify our heavenly Father (Matthew 5:16).

Are there things you’re doing but you don’t know why you’re doing them anymore? God never called us to be busy. He called us to be fruitful. Too much pointless activity doesn’t bear fruit and only stresses us out. 

The moral of the story is simply this: just because we’re doing activities doesn’t mean that we’re taking ACTION! Action is the cause, activity is the effect! You’ll know that you’re in ACTION when you’re bearing fruit! 

fruit·ful

[froot-fuhl]  adjective  1. producing good results; beneficial; profitable: fruitful investigations. 

2. abounding in fruit, as trees or other plants; bearing fruit abundantly. 

3. producing an abundant growth, as of fruit: fruitful soil; fruitful rain.

Prayer Starter: Holy Spirit, help me take an inventory of my life and cut out pointless activity. I don’t want to be too busy. Show me how to live a more fruitful life. AMEN! 

Authored by: Valerie Champion 

_________________________________

HAPPY NEW YEAR! This is my Gift to you!Click The Picture & To Receive Your FREE Gift!

WELCOME TO THE GOLDEN AGE!! 

Edited & Submitted by:

Dwayne B. Neal – Team N.A.M.E.S.
“Knowledge is power, but ACTION is King!”

My profiles: Facebook Twitter Google Buzz LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

